Book train Tickets from

San Francisco to Chicago

QUICKVIEW

TRAVELING FROM San Francisco TO Chicago BY train

AVERAGE PRICE

$222

FASTEST TIME

53h

TRIPS PER DAY

11

train CARRIERS

1

Sun, Apr 22
$172
Mon, Apr 23
$172
Tue, Apr 24
$172
Wed, Apr 25
$172
Thu, Apr 26
$172
Fri, Apr 27
$172
Sat, Apr 28
$172
Sun, Apr 29
$172
Mon, Apr 30
$172
Tue, May 1
$172
Wed, May 2
$172
Thu, May 3
$172
Fri, May 4
$172
Sat, May 5
$172

Why book on Wanderu?

  • Lowest Prices
  • $0 Wanderu Fees
  • The Most Options
How can I get the cheapest train ticket from San Francisco to Chicago?

Wanderu makes it simple to get cheap train tickets by searching prices and itineraries for 70+ bus and train lines in 20+ countries. Comparing your options and booking as early as possible is the best way to get the cheapest train ticket from San Francisco to Chicago. Based on historic trends, the lowest average train fare from San Francisco to Chicago has been $208MX$3,855CA$266€169£149kn1,254Kč4,293zł706CHF203. By booking 26 days in advance, tickets are typically $62MX$1,145CA$79€50£44kn373Kč1,275zł210CHF60 cheaper than those booked at the last minute.

When is the best time to travel from San Francisco to Chicago?

The busiest time of the week for travel to Chicago from San Francisco by train is at 7am on Friday. If you plan to travel around this time, book your tickets well in advance as they may sell out.

10pm on Friday is when the least number of people travel by train on this route. If you’re looking for a little extra space, departing around this time is your best chance to be on an uncrowded train.

BUSIEST ON

Fri

LEAST BUSY ON

Fri

How many daily train trips are there from San Francisco to Chicago?
TRIPS PER DAY

11

DIRECT TRIPS

0

EARLIEST DEPARTURE

4am

LATEST DEPARTURE

10pm

On average, there are 11 train trips from San Francisco to Chicago every day. Amtrak schedules have the most departures from San Francisco to Chicago, with an average of 11 trips per day, and 280 trips per month.

If you're looking for more travel options, you may also want to view San Francisco to Chicago bus schedules.

Train lines that have service on this route offer WIFI and power outlets.

How long is the train ride from San Francisco to Chicago? On average, a train trip from San Francisco to Chicago takes 66h 33m to make the 1855.8 mi - 2985.8 km journey. Amtrak has the fastest advertised travel time of 53h to get from San Francisco to Chicago.

Train lines that run from San Francisco to Chicago

Getting from San Francisco to Chicago by Amtrak Train:

Amtrak is USA's premier train carrier. Serving both the coasts as well as taking travelers from east to west and back, amtrak is both a convenient and comfortable way to travel.

Avg. time 66h 33m
Avg. price $222