Book train Tickets from

New York to San Francisco

QUICKVIEW

TRAVELING FROM New York TO San Francisco BY train

AVERAGE PRICE

$305

FASTEST TIME

75h 25m

TRIPS PER DAY

5

train CARRIERS

1

Sun, Apr 22
$381
Mon, Apr 23
$291
Tue, Apr 24
$232
Wed, Apr 25
$281
Thu, Apr 26
$291
Fri, Apr 27
$281
Sat, Apr 28
$291
Sun, Apr 29
$291
Mon, Apr 30
$232
Tue, May 1
$232
Wed, May 2
$232
Thu, May 3
$232
Fri, May 4
$232
Sat, May 5
$232

Why book on Wanderu?

  • Lowest Prices
  • $0 Wanderu Fees
  • The Most Options
How can I get the cheapest train ticket from New York to San Francisco?

Wanderu makes it simple to get cheap train tickets by searching prices and itineraries for 70+ bus and train lines in 20+ countries. Comparing your options and booking as early as possible is the best way to get the cheapest train ticket from New York to San Francisco. Based on historic trends, the lowest average train fare from New York to San Francisco has been $265MX$4,914CA$339€215£189kn1,599Kč5,473zł900CHF258. By booking 29 days in advance, tickets are typically $135MX$2,508CA$173€110£97kn816Kč2,793zł459CHF132 cheaper than those booked at the last minute.

When is the best time to travel from New York to San Francisco?

The busiest time of the week for travel to San Francisco from New York by train is at 10am on Monday. If you plan to travel around this time, book your tickets well in advance as they may sell out.

6am on Friday is when the least number of people travel by train on this route. If you’re looking for a little extra space, departing around this time is your best chance to be on an uncrowded train.

BUSIEST ON

Mon

LEAST BUSY ON

Fri

How many daily train trips are there from New York to San Francisco?
TRIPS PER DAY

5

DIRECT TRIPS

0

EARLIEST DEPARTURE

6am

LATEST DEPARTURE

3pm

On average, there are 5 train trips from New York to San Francisco every day. Amtrak schedules have the most departures from New York to San Francisco, with an average of 5 trips per day, and 118 trips per month.

If you're looking for more travel options, you may also want to view New York to San Francisco bus schedules.

Train lines that have service on this route offer WIFI and power outlets.

How long is the train ride from New York to San Francisco? On average, a train trip from New York to San Francisco takes 80h 7m to make the 2567.2 mi - 4130.4 km journey. Amtrak has the fastest advertised travel time of 75h 25m to get from New York to San Francisco.

Train lines that run from New York to San Francisco

Getting from New York to San Francisco by Amtrak Train:

Amtrak is USA's premier train carrier. Serving both the coasts as well as taking travelers from east to west and back, amtrak is both a convenient and comfortable way to travel.

Avg. time 80h 7m
Avg. price $305