Book train Tickets from

Chicago to Kansas City

QUICKVIEW

TRAVELING FROM Chicago TO Kansas City BY train

AVERAGE PRICE

$75

FASTEST TIME

7h 10m

TRIPS PER DAY

1

train CARRIERS

2

Sun, Apr 22
$132
Mon, Apr 23
$60
Tue, Apr 24
$69
Wed, Apr 25
$60
Thu, Apr 26
$60
Fri, Apr 27
$69
Sat, Apr 28
$60
Sun, Apr 29
$60
Mon, Apr 30
$60
Tue, May 1
$60
Wed, May 2
$60
Thu, May 3
$60
Fri, May 4
$69
Sat, May 5
$69

Why book on Wanderu?

  • Lowest Prices
  • $0 Wanderu Fees
  • The Most Options
How can I get the cheapest train ticket from Chicago to Kansas City?

Wanderu makes it simple to get cheap train tickets by searching prices and itineraries for 70+ bus and train lines in 20+ countries. Comparing your options and booking as early as possible is the best way to get the cheapest train ticket from Chicago to Kansas City. Based on historic trends, the lowest average train fare from Chicago to Kansas City has been $65MX$1,210CA$83€53£47kn394Kč1,348zł222CHF64. By booking 27 days in advance, tickets are typically $33MX$617CA$43€27£24kn201Kč687zł113CHF32 cheaper than those booked at the last minute.

When is the best time to travel from Chicago to Kansas City?

The busiest time of the week for travel to Kansas City from Chicago by train is at 3pm on Friday. If you plan to travel around this time, book your tickets well in advance as they may sell out.

1pm on Saturday is when the least number of people travel by train on this route. If you’re looking for a little extra space, departing around this time is your best chance to be on an uncrowded train.

BUSIEST ON

Fri

LEAST BUSY ON

Sat

How many daily train trips are there from Chicago to Kansas City?
TRIPS PER DAY

1

DIRECT TRIPS

1

EARLIEST DEPARTURE

9am

LATEST DEPARTURE

3pm

On average, there are 1 train trips from Chicago to Kansas City every day. Amtrak Southwest Chief schedules have the most departures from Chicago to Kansas City, with an average of 1 trips per day, and 20 trips per month.

If you're looking for more travel options, you may also want to view Chicago to Kansas City bus schedules.

Train lines that have service on this route offer WIFI and power outlets.

How long is the train ride from Chicago to Kansas City? On average, a train trip from Chicago to Kansas City takes 9h 44m to make the 412.6 mi - 663.8 km journey. Amtrak Southwest Chief has the fastest advertised travel time of 7h 10m to get from Chicago to Kansas City.

Train lines that run from Chicago to Kansas City

Getting from Chicago to Kansas City by Amtrak Train:

Amtrak is USA's premier train carrier. Serving both the coasts as well as taking travelers from east to west and back, amtrak is both a convenient and comfortable way to travel.

Avg. time 12h 14m
Avg. price $74